Sandwell Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education 2018-2023

This Agreed Syllabus for Religious Education has been created by the Sandwell Syllabus Conference.  It is the legal basis for Religious Education (RE) in Sandwell Schools.

Since 1944 all schools have been required to teach RE to all pupils on roll (with the exception that parents have the right to withdraw their children from the subject). Therefore, along with English, Mathematics, Science, Information Technology and Secondary Citizenship, Religious Education is part of the Basic Curriculum.

The Syllabus explains the value and purposes of RE for all pupils and specifies for teachers what shall be taught in each age group. It provides a coherent framework for setting high standards of learning in RE and enabling pupils to reach their potential in the subject. As such, the Agreed Syllabus is parallel to the government's subject orders for the subjects of the National Curriculum.

Units of Work

In order to support the Agreed Syllabus, Units of Work have been developed in conjunction with RE Today. These resources are available free of charge to all Sandwell schools and academies. These units should not be passed on to others and should only be used by school and academies in Sandwell.

Additional units:

Sandwell Local Authority has commissioned additional resources to support programmes of study which can be downloaded here. It is intended that further units will become available.

Early Years Foundation Stage

Key Stage 1: Year 1 or 2

Lower Key Stage 2: Year 3 or 4

Upper Key Stage 2: Year 5 or 6

Key Stage 3: Year 7, 8 or 9