Birmingham, Sandwell & Westside Jazz Festival

King Pleasure and the Biscuit Boys

Enjoy jazz music across Sandwell's six towns with the Birmingham, Sandwell & Westside Jazz Festival.

Sandwell is an official partner in this international festival for the third year running, with events from 19-28 July 2019, most of which are free.

International artists from America, France, Lithuania and Spain will be joining a host of homegrown talent.

We have events in each of Sandwell’s six towns, including at our libraries, museums, parks and Sandwell Arts Café. Library events include a licensed bar.

It's a fantastic opportunity for people from Sandwell and the rest of the Black Country to enjoy high-quality jazz music right on their doorstep.

Events in Sandwell are as follows (free entry unless stated):

Tuesday 9 July:

  • 7pm: Central Library West Bromwich – Pre-festival Rock School Summer Concert with students from Sandwell schools

Friday 19 July:   

Saturday 20 July:

Sunday 21 July:

Monday 22 July:

Tuesday 23 July:

Wednesday 24 July:

Thursday 25 July:

Friday 26 July:

Saturday 27 July:

Sunday 28 July:

You can follow the festival on Twitter @BirmJazzFest and on Facebook and Instagram.

There will be more jazz and blues events happening in August, September and October in Sandwell libraries.

Music-themed workshops

Families can enjoy music-themed workshops and craft activities in the run up to the Birmingham, Sandwell & Westside Jazz Festival.

Sandwell Adult and Family Learning (SAFL) is running the free events.

Both events will run from 11am – 2pm and are free. Adults need to bring ID to register on the day of the event.

For further information about these events or any other SAFL courses, call 0121 557 0837, contact_SAFL@sandwell.gov.uk or go to the SAFL webpage.