My Sandwell Login/Register

School term dates and holidays 2023/24 | Sandwell Council

£150 Council Tax Energy Rebate - what you need to do next

The Council Tax Energy Rebate is a £150 payment to help with the cost of energy bills. The funding is provided by the Government and paid out by the Council. Find out what you need to do next. →

School term dates and holidays 2023/24

Here are the school term dates and holidays for Sandwell's primary, secondary and special schools for 2023 to 2024.

Some academies and voluntary aided church schools may not follow this schedule. You are advised to check with these schools directly.

We strongly recommend that you check exact dates with your school - especially before you book a holiday.

School holidays - what's on in Sandwell. Find out about holiday playschemes, childcare and activities near you.

 

Autumn term 2023

  • Term starts: Tuesday 5 September 2023
  • Half-term holiday: Monday 30 October  to Friday 3 November 2023
  • Term ends: Friday 22 December 2023
  • Christmas holiday: Monday 25 December 2023 to Friday 5 January 2024

Spring term 2024

  • Term starts: Monday 8 January 2024
  • Half-term holiday: Monday 12 February 2024 to Friday 16 February 2024
  • Term ends: Friday 22 March 2024
  • Easter Holiday: Monday 25 March to Friday 5 April 2024

Summer term 2024

  • Term starts: Monday 8 April 2024
  • Half-term holiday: Monday 27 May 2024 to Friday 31 May 2024
  • Term ends: Monday 22 July 2024
  • Summer holiday starts: Tuesday 23 July 2024
     

Your school will let you know about any teacher training days. 

You may get fined if you take your children out of school during term time

Schools can now issue fines to parents who take their children out of school during term time.

Please think carefully before booking a holiday in term time. You should consider the potential impact on your child's education.

Statistics show that 10 days' absence in any academic year means pupils' learning suffers and they do worse in tests and exams.

Remember that schools don't have to provide work for students taking holidays during term time.