Religious Education

Which religions are used for learning

The Syllabus Conference's decisions about which religions shall be studied reflect the population of Sandwell, the midlands region and the UK, in line with the law and good practice in RE.

The requirements enable a continuing study of Christianity, Sikhism and Islam, the major religions of Sandwell, from KS1-3, and require the study of Hindu traditions (for 7-14s), Judaism (for 7 -14s) and Buddhism (for 11-14s) as well. Schools may also plan work about other religions (eg the Baha'i faith, Jains, Rastafari) and non-religious ethical life stances (eg Humanism) as appropriate.

The Syllabus requires the study of 6 religions across the 5-14 age range, with a strong emphasis on the religions most represented in Sandwell.

Foundation Stage Beginning to learn about the religions found among the children in the class.
Key Stage 1 Beginning to learn about Christianity, Sikhism and Islam.
Key Stage 2 Learning more about Christianity, Sikhism and Islam.
Beginning to learn about Hinduism and Judaism.
Key Stage 3 Learning about Christianity, Sikhism and Islam at higher levels.
Learning more about Hinduism and Judaism.
Beginning to learn about Buddhism .
Key Stage 4 Learning at the standards required for national qualifications about Christianity and [normally] at least one other religion.
16-19 RE for all Schools must meet the law in providing RE for all 16-19 year olds on roll. Provision should be clearly identifiable, and should avoid tokenism, enabling students to make progress in their understanding of religion and life.