Site search is temporarily unavailable

The search bar above is not currently working. Please use this temporary site search →

School term dates and holidays 2016/17

Here are the school term dates and holidays for Sandwell's primary, secondary and special schools in 2016/17.

Some academies and voluntary aided church schools may not follow this schedule.

You are advised to check with these schools directly.

We strongly recommend that you check exact dates with your school - especially before you book a holiday.

School holidays - what's on in Sandwell. Find out about holiday playschemes, childcare and activities near you.

Autumn term 2016

  • Term starts: Monday 5 September 2016
  • Half term holiday: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October 2016
  • Term ends: Friday 16 December 2016
  • Christmas holiday: Monday 19 December 2016 to Monday 2 January 2017

Spring term 2017

  • Term starts: Tuesday 3 January 2017
  • Half term holiday: Monday 20 February to Friday 24 February 2017
  • Term ends: Friday 7 April 2017
  • Easter holiday: Monday 10 April to Friday 21 April 2017

Summer term 2017

  • Term starts: Monday 24 April 2017
  • Bank holiday: Monday 1 May 2017
  • Half term holiday: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June 2017
  • Term ends: Tuesday 25 July 2017
  • Summer holiday: From Wednesday 26 July 2017

Your school will let you know about any teacher training days.

 

You may get fined if you take your children out of school during term time

Schools can issue fines to parents who take their children out of school during term time.

Please think carefully before booking a holiday in term time. You should consider the potential impact on your child's education.

Statistics show that 10 days' absence in any academic year means pupils' learning suffers and they do worse in tests and exams.

Remember that schools don't have to provide work for students taking holidays during term time.