Christmas and New Year opening hours

Find out when we're open over Christmas and New Year. Christmas opening hours →

School term dates and holidays 2015/16

Here are the term dates for Sandwell schools for 2015/2016.

School holidays - what's on in Sandwell. Find out about holiday playschemes, childcare and activities near you.

These are only recommended dates. Although the majority of schools will use these dates, some may not.

We strongly recommend that you check exact dates with your school - especially before you book a holiday.

Autumn term 2015

Term starts: Thursday 3 September  2015
Half term holiday: Monday 26 October to Friday 30 October 2015
Term ends: Friday 18 December 2015
Christmas holiday: Monday 21 December 2015 to Friday 1 January 2016

Spring term 2016

Term starts: Monday 4 January 2016
Half term holiday: Monday 15 February to Friday 19 February 2016
Term ends: Thursday 24 March 2016
Easter holiday: Friday 25 March to Friday 8 April 2016

Summer term 2016

Term starts: Monday 11 April 2016
Bank holiday: Monday 2 May 2016
Half term holiday: Monday 30 May to Friday 3 June 2016
Term ends: Friday 22 July 2016
Summer holiday: From Monday 25 July 2016

Your school will let you know about any teacher training days.

You may get fined if you take your children out of school during term time

Schools can now issue fines to parents who take their children out of school during term time.

Please think carefully before booking a holiday in term time. You should consider the potential impact on your child's education.

Statistics show that 10 days' absence in any academic year means pupils' learning suffers and they do worse in tests and exams.

Remember that schools don't have to provide work for students taking holidays during term time.